Breast lift – what are the different types of surgery?

Breast lift/ Mastopexy

As we age, breasts can lose their firmness and start to droop. Mastopexy, or a breast lift, is the surgical procedure which aims to improve the shape of the breast.

With age, pregnancy, breastfeeding, weight loss, gravity and a loss of skin elasticity, the breast can stretch and elongate, causing the breast to droop on the chest wall. This is called ‘breast ptosis’.

Breast lift surgery involves lifting and reshaping the breast tissue to improve breast contour and firmness, whilst correcting the ptosis. The nipple and areola may be repositioned to a higher, more youthful position. Enlarged areolas can also be reduced. Excess skin is removed if there is a loss of elasticity.

There are four different breast lift techniques

The crescent lift

This technique involves removing a crescent-shaped piece of tissue above the areola (nipple), and then pulling the skin up towards the top of the breast. This is suitable only for patients who have a slight sag or asymmetry.

The lollipop lift

This technique involves an incision around the nipple area with a line running down the breast. The breast tissue is built up in the middle in a shape that can be compared to a cone, incorporating breast tissue from the sides and middle of the breast. This is a common technique to give the breasts projection.

The donut lift

This procedure is commonly used for women with less sagging and smaller breasts. A circular incision is made around the areola and a donut-shaped area of skin is removed, which results in a lift.

The anchor lift

This is a more common procedure for larger breasts. An incision is made from the nipple down towards the bottom of the breast and another incision underneath the breast, resembling an anchor.

Which technique offers you the optimal, safest outcome will be discussed at the initial consultation with Dr Kevin Ho. To enquire further please call (02) 9650 4900 or download your details.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 1 = 4